I was self isolating before it was cool……

Just saying….

The reason for this of course is that after major surgery, one is prone to infection. After heart surgery, it can be particularly dangerous. For some reason I can’t quite work out, your lungs end up super weak post operatively. Coughs, colds, the flu and the now dreaded C-bomb would be particularly dangerous for me (maybe).

So I was indeed the original hipster of self isolation.

Been a while since I last blogged and there is a good reason for this.

Not a lot has really been happening.

I left hospital in mid February.

I cried when I left the hospital. I cried when I got home. There really were times when I thought I wouldn’t come home and that sucked. But I did, which was better.

I was sent home with instructions to stay away from the tube and the GP, go walking twice a day, everyday adding two minutes per day, do some stretches and generally take it easy.

And that is precisely what I have been up to. A whole lot of not much at all.

6 weeks on from the op and I’m feeling much better.  I can tackle stairs, walk for an hour and do very basic household tasks.

I do feel a bit like I live in a care home really.  I have a routine, I take my myriad of medicines (now down from 25 odd pills to about 6 which is great), I nap, I eat, I do some exercise. If I’m lucky I got a visitor! I go to bed early. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat. Ad nauseum. I’ve been at home for 5 weeks and now the whole world gets to join in!

It is nice to be at home with Candice and Sadie though.

The “wound” is healing up nicely, the scar is still quite aggressive. Inside is still painful and I can’t drive or lift over 2.5kg, but outwardly, other than looking raggedy (more so than usual), I suspect I look like my typical handsome self.

The days, oddly go by so fast, I haven’t really had the time to reflect properly on my experience yet, or how I feel.  A few people have asked me if I have changed…… have I?

I don’t know.  Physically sure, I have an implant and piece of someone else in me.  I can hear my heartbeat in my ear when I lie down, and have a huge scar, but I am still me.  I think so. I am still pretty tired. I’m wondering if I will be like the 6 million dollar man in a few months; Faster! Stronger! Better! Getting back to actual activity rather than a slow pootle round the park would be a good start.

And then…….the world changed. And everyone is stuck at home. I live in the “at risk” (maybe) category for Corona so it looks like I may be taking even longer off than I wanted.  

Then again, I am no longer alone and we are now all in this together. Since I’ve not been out much further than the park in weeks, the whole apocalypse thing is rather passing me by a bit.  Kind of feels the same as three weeks ago, just less windy outside.

In many ways I was lucky to get the op completed in February (we had to sign

a form saying we had not been in China, but that was it). Because now it would be cancelled, leading to more stress, worry and dark morbid, if somewhat entertaining blogs.

This blog actually feels a little bit empty without the anger and emotional outbursts that pervaded my writing. “Oh shit, I’m going to die” is probably more exciting,  but I’m quite calm right now.

My rehab classes are cancelled and all follow up appointments too, so I am just assuming everything inside is ok.  It seems ok.

Thanks to everyone who brought round food or came to say hello, the support was incredible.

I hope everyone is keeping well and safe.

I’m off for a walk soon. Keeping at least 3 metres away from all of you germ bags though.

Much love,

Howard

One thought on “I was self isolating before it was cool……

  1. Glad to hear you are doing well. Stay safe and follow doctor’s orders.
    All our love to you, Candice and Sadie

    Simone, Ray & family

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started